The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward – Review

1 Star

This is the story of a serial killer and a stolen child. Revenge, death and an ordinary house at the end of an ordinary street. In the dark forest at the end of the street, something is buried, but not what you think.

This book begins strangely and it took me a while to get a handle on the writing style but once I did I thought it was well written. There is a constant air of gloom all through the narrative, a suspicion of something sinister always in the background; people who exist but are not really there. In parts, it becomes rambling with no story, just monologues from the different characters. Some parts make no sense at all.

The book started with promise but lost itself in the middle. The story from Dee’s point of view makes sense, just about, but the others are confusing and, at times, ridiculous. This book has so many 5 star reviews on Goodreads I am beginning to think I may be reading a different book.

It wasn’t for me.

Leave a comment