NaNoWriMo 5 Days in

After five days I’m still going strong and setting a steady pace to ensure I am not trying to finish all in the last couple of days. I’m just over 12,000 words in and although I could write more I’m happy to have a life as well as write. Last year I lost the enthusiasm when I got behind in the first week and then realized I would never catch up. I abandoned the project early in the month and it remains sitting, untouched since in My Documents.

I seem to have overcome my desire to constantly go back and edit and revise and I am learning to get the ideas and thoughts down and worry about the revision later. I will probably have to shelve much of my current text but for me this was always about getting myself back into the habit of writing every day and that has worked so far. On work days I’ve set the alarm early and tapped away at my lap top for an hour before heading off. At lunchtime I’ve continued adding some more words and in the evening, before my evening meal, I’ve managed to add some more to it. I don’t want it to consume all my time and behave like a mad person locking myself away from the world. I still have a wife and two dogs to care for and walk and the multitude of other things we do every day. Unless I become a hermit and just write there is a life going on around me.

The daily writing discipline, which I lost over the past year, is returning. I am determined that given my good start in NaNoWriMo I will continue the habit long after November.

Good luck to everyone else who is writing this month, I hope you are all winners

 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 5 Days in

  1. Pingback: Ugly Words: NaNoWriMo Day 5 | six impossible things

Leave a comment